The Institute for New Music at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media (HMTMH) was founded by Johannes Schöllhorn after his appointment as professor for composition and numerous colleagues (Senate resolution of 24/6/2002). Johannes Schöllhorn also gave the name (alluding to a oeuvre by Luigi Nono) "Incontri" (Encounters), which advanced from the title of a concert series to the name of the institute. Since its foundation, the Institute has organized numerous concerts, workshops, lectures, installations and performances every year. In 2007-2011 it was part of the nationwide New Music Network. Since 2011 it has been part of Musik 21 Niedersachsen. In addition, there are numerous other collaborations and partnerships.
In the fall of 2009, Johannes Schöllhorn accepted a position at the Cologne University of Music and Dance. As Schöllhorn's successor, Rebecca Saunders and Oliver Schneller were appointed as new professors of composition in October 2012 and headed the Institute for New Music. Other teachers were José María Sánchez-Verdú and Ming Tsao.
Gordon Williamson received an administrative order to the composition professorship in 2015 and has led the institute since then. Joachim Heintz is a member of the Institute since 2004 as a lecturer in electronic composition and heads the electronic studio. Snezana Nesic-Davidovic supervises the New Chamber Music section for the Institute. Since 2015, Daniel Moreira teaches the main subject of acoustics and instrumentation. He is also composition teacher at the Precollege Institute (IFF)  at HMTMH. From 2012 to 2020, Hiroyo Iida-Falk was an organizational associate at the Institute. She was followed by Karsten Barthold, who primarily coordinates the numerous events.


Last modified: 2022-12-06

To top